Know more

Our use of cookies

Cookies are a set of data stored on a user’s device when the user browses a web site. The data is in a file containing an ID number, the name of the server which deposited it and, in some cases, an expiry date. We use cookies to record information about your visit, language of preference, and other parameters on the site in order to optimise your next visit and make the site even more useful to you.

To improve your experience, we use cookies to store certain browsing information and provide secure navigation, and to collect statistics with a view to improve the site’s features. For a complete list of the cookies we use, download “Ghostery”, a free plug-in for browsers which can detect, and, in some cases, block cookies.

Ghostery is available here for free: https://www.ghostery.com/fr/products/

You can also visit the CNIL web site for instructions on how to configure your browser to manage cookie storage on your device.

In the case of third-party advertising cookies, you can also visit the following site: http://www.youronlinechoices.com/fr/controler-ses-cookies/, offered by digital advertising professionals within the European Digital Advertising Alliance (EDAA). From the site, you can deny or accept the cookies used by advertising professionals who are members.

It is also possible to block certain third-party cookies directly via publishers:

Cookie type

Means of blocking

Analytical and performance cookies

Realytics
Google Analytics
Spoteffects
Optimizely

Targeted advertising cookies

DoubleClick
Mediarithmics

The following types of cookies may be used on our websites:

Mandatory cookies

Functional cookies

Social media and advertising cookies

These cookies are needed to ensure the proper functioning of the site and cannot be disabled. They help ensure a secure connection and the basic availability of our website.

These cookies allow us to analyse site use in order to measure and optimise performance. They allow us to store your sign-in information and display the different components of our website in a more coherent way.

These cookies are used by advertising agencies such as Google and by social media sites such as LinkedIn and Facebook. Among other things, they allow pages to be shared on social media, the posting of comments, and the publication (on our site or elsewhere) of ads that reflect your centres of interest.

Our EZPublish content management system (CMS) uses CAS and PHP session cookies and the New Relic cookie for monitoring purposes (IP, response times).

These cookies are deleted at the end of the browsing session (when you log off or close your browser window)

Our EZPublish content management system (CMS) uses the XiTi cookie to measure traffic. Our service provider is AT Internet. This company stores data (IPs, date and time of access, length of the visit and pages viewed) for six months.

Our EZPublish content management system (CMS) does not use this type of cookie.

For more information about the cookies we use, contact INRA’s Data Protection Officer by email at cil-dpo@inra.fr or by post at:

INRA
24, chemin de Borde Rouge –Auzeville – CS52627
31326 Castanet Tolosan CEDEX - France

Dernière mise à jour : Mai 2018

Menu Logo Principal agroParistech cnrs ird ANR

Soilµ3D

Programme

Photo programme INRA

MicroSoil 2018 

Workshop on “Elucidating microbial processes in soils and sediments: Microscale measurements and modeling”

Château de Saint Loup sur Thouet

Saint Loup Lamairé, Deux Sèvres, France

  

June 26-29, 2018.

Shéma programme INRA

Programme

Wednesday June 26, 2018

8:00-9:00: Breakfast in the medieval tower of the château of Saint Loup sur Thouet.

9:00-9:30: Welcome and organizational aspects of workshop

9:30-10:30: Invited talk: “Emergent properties of microbial activity in heterogeneous soil microenvironments: An overview”, Wilfred Otten [40 minutes + 20 minutes for discussion]

10:30-10:45: Coffee break  (first chance to see posters of Poster session 1)

Session I: Physical description and modelling. Chair: Hans-Jörg Vogel

10:45-11:20: “Recent progress in the treatment and segmentation of X-ray CT images of soils”, Steffen Schlüter  [20 +15]

11:20-11:55: “Quantitative analysis of X-ray CT images of soils”, Fernando San José Martinez [20 +15]

11:55-12:30: “Sharing soil CT images and image analysis software: How do we do it, and should we come up with soil standards?” open discussion centered around 2 short presentations by Marine Lacoste and John Koestel [35]

12:30-14:00: Lunch (cold buffet in the Orangerie, on the grounds of the château)

14:00-14:35: Invited talk: “Soil microaggregates: How useful are they in the research on microscale processes?”, Kai Uwe Totsche [20 +15]

14:35-15:00: “Can pore scale geometry explain sample-scale hydrodynamic properties of soils?”, Aurore Degré [20 +15]

15:00-15:30: “Where do we stand on modelling the microscale physics of soils?”, Philippe Baveye [20 +15]

15:30-16:00: “Areas we should focus on in the physical description of soils”, Open discussion [30]

16:00-16:30: Coffee break (+ posters)

Session II: (Bio)chemical characterization and modelling.

Chair: Ingrid Kögel-Knabner

16:30-17:15: Invited talk: “Using X-ray CT to identify SOM distribution patterns in soils”, Sasha Kravchenko [30 +15]

17:15-17:50: “Mucilage in soils: Characterization and impact”, Andrea Carminati, University of Halle, Germany. [20 +15]

17:50-18:25: “Submicron-scale imaging of soil organic matter dynamics using NanoSIMS”, Carsten Müller [20 +15]

18:25–18:45: Open discussion (including discussion of posters)

 

 

Thursday June 26, 2018

8:00-9:00: Breakfast in the medieval tower of the château of Saint Loup sur Thouet.

Session II (continued): (Bio)chemical characterization and modelling.

Chair: Ingrid Kögel-Knabner

9:00-9:50: Invited talk: “Using statistical techniques to extrapolate 2D chemical maps to the 3rd dimension”, Simona Hapca [30 +15]

9:45-10:00: “Where do we stand on modelling the microscale (bio)chemistry of soils? Brief overview of a black hole”, Philippe Baveye [10+5]

10:00-10:30: “Areas we should focus on in the (bio)chemical characterization/description of soils”, Open discussion [30]

10:30-10:45: Coffee break (first chance to see posters of Poster session 2)

Session III: Microbial characterization and modelling.

Chair: Matthias Kästner

10:45-11:20: “Microbial hotspots and hot moments: Conceptual background”, Evgenia Blagodatskaya [20 +15]

11:20-11:55: “Soil-microorganisms interactions revealed through transmission electron microscopy”, Françoise Watteau [20 +15]

11:55-12:30: Poster session

12:30-14:00: Lunch (cold buffet in the Orangerie, on the grounds of the château)

14:00-14:35: “FISH-related techniques to assess the spatial distribution of soil-microorganisms in thin sections”, Hannes Schmidt [20 +15]

14:35-15:00: “Microbial dynamics at the microscale: How can we move to 4D and are micromodels part of the answer?”, Philippe C. Baveye [15 +10]

15:00-15:25: “Round-table discussion: Why are there so few measurements of the microscale spatial distribution and activity of microorganisms, and how can we get more?” Discussion led by Naoise Nunan and Wilfred Otten [35]

15:25-16:00: “Computer simulation of the activity of micoorganisms in soils: Where are we?”, Valérie Pot [20+15]

16:00-16:30: Coffee break (+ posters)

16:30-17:05: “Individual-based modeling of C and N turnover in soils”, Christina Kaiser [20+15]

17:05-17:35: “Areas we should focus on in the microbial characterization/description of soils”, Open discussion [30]

 

Session IV: Integration and upscaling

Chair: Wilfred Otten

17:35-18:10: “Example of integration of disciplinary perspectives: Linking 3D Soil Structure and Plant-Microbe-Soil Carbon Transfer in the Rhizosphere”, Alix Vidal. [20 +15]

18:10-18:45: Poster session

 

Friday June 26, 2018

8:00-9:00: Breakfast in the medieval tower of the château of Saint Loup sur Thouet.

 

Session IV (continued): Integration and upscaling

Chair: Wilfred Otten

9:00-9:35: “Example of integration of disciplinary perspectives: In situ X-ray tomography imaging of soil water and cyanobacteria from biological soil crusts undergoing desiccation”, Estelle Couradeau and Vincent Felde. [20 +15]

9:35-9:55: “Types of integration we should focus on in the near future”, Open discussion [20]

9:55-10:30: “Emergent properties: Scaling up soil carbon dynamics from microbial cells to ecosystems”, Anke Hermann [20+15]

10:30-10:45: Coffee break

10:45-11:05: “Continued open discussion on scaling-up and new macroscopic measurements”, Open discussion [20]

11:05-12:00: “Where do we go from here? Outlining a possible COST proposal to create European-scale network + other funding opportunities” discussion led by Philippe C. Baveye, Patricia Garnier and Naoise Nunan [55]

Session V. Wrapping up:

12:00-12:30:  Concluding comments and award for best poster and runner-up (Sponsored by Frontiers) Philippe C. Baveye [30]

12:30-14:00: Lunch (hot buffet in the Orangerie, on the grounds of the château)

  

List of participants:

 

Name

Institution, country

Country

E-mail address

Allegretta, Ignazio

University of Bari

Italy

ignazio.allegretta@uniba.it

Balseiro Romero, María

AgroParisTech

France

maria.balseiro@inra.fr

Baveye, Philippe

AgroParisTech

France

Philippe.Baveye@AgroParisTech.fr

Benard, Pascal

University of Göttingen, Germany

Germany

pbenard@uni-goettingen.de

Blagodatskaya, Evgenia

University of Göttingen, Germany

Germany

janeblag@mail.ru

Bonneville, Steeve

Université Libre de Bruxelles

Belgium

steeve.bonneville@ulb.ac.be

Brax, Mathilde

University of Koblens-Landau

Germany

brax@uni-landau.de

Carminati, Andrea

University of Bayreuth, Germany

Germany

Andrea.Carminati@uni-bayreuth.de

Chalhoub, Maha

BRGM/INRA

France

maha.chalhoub@inra.fr

Chenu, Claire

AgroParisTech

France

Claire.Chenu@AgroParisTech.fr

Coche, Alexandre

University of Rennes, France

France

alexandre.coche@univ-rennes1.fr

Colombi, Tino

Agricultural University, Uppsala

Sweden

tino.colombi@slu.se

Cornelis, Jean-Thomas

University of Liège, Gembloux

Belgium

jtcornelis@uliege.be

Couradeau, Estelle

Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory

USA

ecouradeau@lbl.gov

Degré , Aurore

University of Liège, Gembloux

Belgium

aurore.degre@uliege.be

Diehl, Dörte

University of Koblens-Landau

Germany

diehl@uni-landau.de

Felde, Vincent

University of Kassel

Germany

felde@uni-kassel.de

Garnier, Patricia

INRA

France

patricia.garnier@inra.fr

Guber, Andrey

Michigan State University

U.S.A.

akguber@msu.edu

Hallett, Paul

University of Aberdeen

Scotland

paul.hallett@abdn.ac.uk

Hapca, Simona

University of Dundee

Scotland

s.z.hapca@dundee.ac.uk

Hermann, Anke

Agricultural University, Uppsala

Sweden

Anke.Herrmann@slu.se

Kaiser, Christina

University of Vienna

Austria

christina.kaiser@univie.ac.at

Kaltenbach, Robin

University of Koblens-Landau

Germany

kaltenbach@uni-landau.de

Kästner, Matthias

Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research

Germany

matthias.kaestner@ufz.de

Koestel, John

Agricultural University, Uppsala

Sweden

John.Koestel@slu.se

Kögel-Knabner, Ingrid

Technical University of Munich

Germany

koegel@wzw.tum.de

Kravchenko, Alexandra

Michigan State University

U.S.A.

kravche1@msu.edu

Kröner, Eva

University of Koblens-Landau

Germany

kroener@uni-landau.de

Lacoste, Marine

INRA

France

Marine.Lacoste@Inra.fr

Monga, Olivier

IRD, France

France

olivier.monga@ird.fr

Müller, Carsten

Technical University of Munich

Germany

carsten.mueller@wzw.tum.de

Nunan, Naoise

CNRS, France

France

naoise.nunan@upmc.fr

Otten, Wilfred

Cranfield University

England

Wilfred.Otten@Cranfield.ac.uk

Paradelo, Marcos

Rothamsted

England

mparadeloperez@gmail.com

Pierret, Alain

IEES, Paris

France

apierret2@gmail.com

Portell, Xavier

Cranfield University

England

xavier.portell@cranfield.ac.uk

Pot, Valérie

INRA

France

Valerie.pot@inra.fr

Raynaud, Xavier

Pierre-and-Marie-Curie University

France

xavier.raynaud@upmc.fr

San José Martinez. Fernando

Polytechnic University of Madrid

Spain

fernando.sanjose@upm.es

Schlüter, Steffen

University of Halle

Germany

steffen.schlueter@ufz.de

Schmidt, Hannes

University of Vienna

Austria

hannes.schmidt@microbial-ecology.net

Spagnuolo, Matteo

University of Bari

Italy

matteo.spagnuolo@uniba.it

Totsche, Kai

University of Jena

Germany

kai.totsche@uni-jena.de

Vedere, Charlotte

Inra

France

Charlotte.Vedere@Inra.fr

Vetterlein, Doris

University of Halle

Germany

doris.vetterlein@ufz.de

Vidal, Alix

Technical University of Munich

Germany

alix.vidal@wzw.tum.de

Vogel, Hans-Jörg

University of Halle

Germany

hans-Joerg.Vogel@ufz.de

Wagai, Rota

NARO, Tukuba

Japan

rota@affrc.go.jp

Watteau, Françoise

University of Lorraine, France

France

francoise.watteau@univ-lorraine.fr

Wick Gessler, Lukas

Helmholtz, Leipzig

Germany

lukas.wick@ufz.de

Workshop 2018

MicroSoil 2018
Read more